2017 GEM Awards Winners Announced

19/01/2017 14:00

The 15th annual GEM awards presented by the Jewelers of America (JA), the national trade association for businesses serving the fine jewelry marketplace, took place on January 13 in New York and was hosted by jewelry designer Stephen Webster. The winners in the categories of Jewelry Design, Marketing & Communications, Media Excellence and Watch Excellence were announced live to an audience of 500 elite members of the watch and jewelry industry, celebrities and members of press. Jim Rosenheim, chairman of Tiny Jewel Box in Washington, D.C., was the recipient of the 2017 GEM Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Lucia Silvestri, Jewellery Creative Director of BVLGARI, took home the GEM Award for Jewelry Design.  Kay Jewelers took home the GEM Award for Marketing & Communications. The GEM Award for Media Excellence was given to Grace Fuller, Jewelry Editor of W magazine. Patek Philippe received the GEM Award for Watch Excellence.

The star-studded was sponsored by a host of brands, however Rio Tinto put a new 400-carat rough diamond from its new diamond mining venture on display, as well as diamond necklaces.