Kimberley Process Announces EU as 2018 Chair, India 2019 Chair

18/11/2016 13:31

The Kimberley Process (KP) Plenary held in UAE this week concluded with the announcement that  that it has appointed the European Union as its Chair for 2018. The EU will assume responsibility as KP Vice Chair in 2017 with Australia as Chair, and India will be the Vice Chair in 2018 when EU becomes the organisation’s Chair. Consequently, in 2019 India will become the KP Chair.

A European Commission press release reads: The European Union will have a unique opportunity to strengthen the effectiveness of the Kimberley Process as its Chair, in particular in the context of the upcoming reform process. During its Chairmanship, the EU will reinforce and promote an open dialogue among the three pillars that make up the Kimberley Process - Governments, industry and civil society. The European Union has been at the forefront of the KPCS since the outset. The Union has been chairing the Working Group on Monitoring, overseeing the Scheme's peer review mechanism and dealing with issues of non-compliance. The European Union last chaired the Kimberley Process in 2007.